US United States History: The Great Depression

• America's Great Depression
• History of American Agriculture 1930s
• Iowa History Timeline: 1930s
• Timelines of the Great Depression
• U.S. Labor History 1930 - 1939

• Historical Census Browser
  This database from the University of Virginia enables you to create customized tables using select data from the 1790-1960 decennial censuses.
• Shmoop: Great Depression Statistics - Paul Thompson

Political Cartoon Critical of FDR (1930s)

• About Life: The Photographs of Dorothea Lange Curriculum
  This curriculum, from the J. P. Getty Museum, focuses on Dorothea Lange and her photography, helps students to visualize history and explore their own creativity through art and writing activities.

• Dust Bowl Images
  Photographs of Dust storms and their effects in the central United States, refered to at the time as the Dust Bowl

• Dust Bowl During the Great Depression
  From the Library of Congress a timeline on the Dust Bowl of the 1930s

• Dust Bowl Migration: Questions to Consider
  From the University of California is informtion on migration during the Dust Bowl

• Dorothea Lange. (American, 1895-1965)
  From the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, a sample of the work of American photographer Dorothea Lange

• A New Deal for the Arts
  From the National Archives of the United States (NARA) is an exhibit on art created as part of the New Deal during the Great Depression.

• Photographs from the FSA-OWI, 1935-1945
  From the Library of Congress, Selections from the Federal Theatre Project

• WPA Posters
  The By the People, For the People: Posters from the WPA, 1936-1943 collection consists of 908 boldly colored and graphically diverse original posters produced from 1936 to 1943 as part of Franklin Delano Roosevelt's New Deal.

Source: Documenting the American South (UNC)

• The Works Progress Administration School Lunch Project

  An article from a 1936 issue of the Journal of Home Economics on the progress of the school lunch project around the country.
• School Lunches Prove Their Value

  Several short articles published in 1933 on how different communities set up localized school lunch programs.
• Sample School Lunch Menus and Recipes

  Published by the USDA in 1936.

• Black Oral History Collection by Washington State University

  Interviews with African American pioneers and their descendents throughout Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. ca. late 1800s through 1974.
• Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions' Digital Collection by Marquette University Memorial Library
• 1,800 photographs of Native Americans from 100 tribes in 38 states; ca. 1880-1950.
• Education by Design by Broward County Library (Fort Lauderdale, Florida)
• Over 700 historic educational visual aids produced under the Works Projects Administration (WPA). Ca. 1935-1943.
• CCC: Civilian Conservation Corps (1933-1943): the New Deal's Depression-Era Ecological Movement by Broward County Library (Fort Lauderdale, Florida)
• Online exhibit from a collection of books, pamphlets, posters, banners, clothing, memory books, newspapers and newsletters, certificates, games, matchbook covers, menus, patches, pillow cases, posters, and postcards.
• Editorial Cartoons of J.N. "Ding" Darling by University of Iowa
• Over 11,000 cartoons covering politics, U.S. presidents, social issues, economics, cultural affairs, and environmental conservation. Ca. 1900-1949. Supports browsing by topics, people, and events.
• Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Project by Washington State University, Oregon Historical Society, Idaho State Historical Society, and Washington State Historical Society
• Books, pamphlets, serials, photographs, oral histories, ephemera, artifacts, and videos. Ca. 1860-present. Supports browsing by date.
• Eugenics in North Carolina by State Library of North Carolina
• Reports, legal documents, statistics, and pamphlets that document the eugenics movement in North Caroline, ca. 1929-1977. Supports browsing by date.
• Holy Rosary Mission - Red Cloud Indian School by Marquette University
• Photographs from the Red Cloud Indian School at the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. Include images of people, places, and events involving Oglala Indian children, youth, and adults; Jesuits; lay teachers; and Sisters of St. Francis of Penance and Christian Charity. Ca. 1860s-present. Supports browsing by decade.
• University of Iowa Physical Education for Women by University of Iowa
• Nearly 1,000 digitized photographs from the collection of the Department of Physical Education for Women at the University of Iowa. Ca. 1900-2006.
• Washington Rural Heritage
• Photographs, maps, letters, postcards, manuscripts, scrapbooks, programs from events, memorabilia and ephemera, and audio and video clips that document their community's history and culture. Ca. 1860-present. Supports browsing by date.
• Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
• Digitized collections include photographs, audio recordings, and parts of the President's Secretary's Files, most of which deal with foreign relations (library has the Safe Files, Confidential Files, and Diplomatic Files on microfilm).
• Archive of Americana
  Search multiple sub-collections from a single interface: Early American Imprints, series I (1639-1800) and Series II (1801-1819), Afro-American Imprints, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), and the American State Papers (1789-1838). Also includes America's Historical Newspapers and African American Periodicals. Search by keyword or subject term.
• Black Thought and Culture
  Colonial times to the present. Non-fiction works, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, books, pamphlets, and letters, with brief, biographical entries for all authors. Some of the documents were previously-unpublished. Supports browsing by date, event, and other subjects.
• North American Women's Letters and Diaries  Colonial period to 1950. Letters from 1,325 women. Letters have been transcribed, rather than reproduced as digital facsimiles, and they are extensively indexed, as well as searchable by keyword. Biographical information is provided for each author, as well as synopses of many of the source documents, reprinted from Joyce Goodfriend’s 1987 bibliography, The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women. Based on six additional bibliographies: The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women by Joyce Goodfriend; American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals by Laura Arksey, Nancy Pries, and Marcia Reed; Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters by Cheryl Cline; American Diaries in Manuscript, 1580-1954; Canadian Diaries and Autobiographies by William Matthews; And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English; and New England Diaries, 1602-1800: A Descriptive Catalogue of Diaries, Orderly Books and Sea Journals.

Job Line in New York City, 1930·  

• Labor History Web Sites
• Archives in the Attic - New Deal Network
• American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
• Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project
• New York Times Topics Page, The Great Depression
• Internet Modern History Sourcebook - The Depression
• Library of Congress American Memory Project - Performing Arts, Music
• 1929-1945: Great Depression and World War II (African American Sites)
• Library of Congress American Memory Project - Voices from the Dust Bowl
• American Life Histories: Manuscripts from the Federal Writers Project, 1936-1940

• Agricultural Adjustment Act 1933
• American Folklife Center
• Emergency Banking Relief Act 1933 (establishiment of FDIC)
• Federal Emergency Relief Administration (FERA) 1933 - 1935
• Emergency Conservation Work (Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC)) Executive Order 6101
  Act for the relief of unemployment through performance of useful public works and other purposes, or Emergency Conservation Work (ECW) Signed into law March 31, 1933.
• Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Iowa DNR
• Works Progress Administration Executive Order 7034
  Emergency Relief Appropriations Act 1933
• WPA Workers Handbook
• Federal Art Project
• Federal Music Project
• Federal Theatre Project
• Federal Writers' Project
• Historic American Buildings Survey
• New Deal Programs: Selected Library of Congress Resources
• Public Works Administration Executive Order 6174
• Social Security Act 1935
• Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) Act