Skip to main content

US IB Science: Home

Scholarly or Not?

Need help determining if a source is scholarly or not? Use theIdentifying Scholarly Journals vs. Other Periodicals guide.

New to reading scientific articles? Take a look at this tutorial created by librarians at Purdue: How to Read a Scientific Paper


RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and citation manager. Three reasons to use RefWorks include the ability to:

1. Gather, store, manage, and share references or citations.

2. Generate bibliographies in numerous citation formats such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

3. Store references online and have accessibility to them whereever internet access is available.

ASM Science Databases

Login information is available on our library Moodle page.

Science Reference Center (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy)

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

Today’s Science Online
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.

Citing Sources

Science-The Guardian RSS Feed

Loading ...


Loading ...

Basic Statistical Calculators

The links below will take you to basic calculators for some commonly used statistal analysis used in social science from Social Science Statistics website.