Login information is available on your teacher's Google Classroom site.
Science Reference Center (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy)
EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.
Today’s Science Online
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.
Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.
Everyone can use advice once in awhile, so here is some advice on doing your Science Fair project and doing it well. Find out how to schedule your project and what the judges are looking for. Learn from judges and students who’ve been there.
Education Place
Need help getting organized? Here is a schedule for completing a project in 8 weeks.
EnergyQuest
"What makes a good science project? Here's some advice from a science fair judge…"
Science World: Winning Tips
Get advice from experts: science fair judges and two students who presented winning projects. They’ll help you create a strong display and tell you how to make a strong impression when the judges reach your table.
Click HERE for a fun Science Fair project suggestion.
|
The scientific method is the process all scientists use to investigate science questions. It involves identifying a problem, learning what is already known about that problem, thinking of a solution or answer (called a hypothesis), doing an experiment to test your hypothesis, and reaching a conclusion based on what you learned.
So before you even begin your project, it is important that you understand the scientific method. Using it to do your project takes some thought, but that’s what science is all about! FactMonster: Science Fair Projects Science Buddies: Introduction to the Scientific Method ScienceStuff.com |
The more you know about a subject, the better your project will be, so here are some resources that might help you.
Animal Diversity Web
Browse through categories of animals such as mammals or insects, or run a search for a specific animal. Learn what it looks like, where it lives, what it eats, and much more. Some of the files have sounds, too.
Biology4Kids
"In the same way everything on Earth is made up of atoms, everything that is alive on Earth is made up of cells." Here is a place to start learning about living things, from the biggest animals down to microorganisms.
California State Science Fair Science Resources by Subject
Great links to great resources to help with your science research!
Chem4Kids
"Everything on Earth, everything in our solar system, everything in our galaxy, and everything in the universe is made up of matter." Chemistry is the study of what stuff is made of and this site will get you started.
Cornell University Center for Advanced Computing (CAC): Science & Arts Gateway for Education (SAGE)
"Welcome to Cornell Universitys award-winning K-12 Science & Arts Gateway for Education (SAGE). Developed by the Cornell Center for Advanced Computing, this gateway provides educators and students with links to lesson planning and learning resources in science, mathematics, and the arts."
EurekAlert: Reference Desk
Here is an index of links to glossaries or dictionaries from various scientific areas, provided by government, academic, research-oriented, and professional organizations. There are many links to agriculture, biology, computers, engineering, environmental and earth sciences, mathematics, health, physics, and space sciences.
Geography4Kids
"This site offers an introduction to the earth sciences that include topics on the Earth's structure, atmosphere, hydrosphere, and biosphere."
MAD Scientist Library
"Welcome to the MadSci Library, an excellent starting point for exploring science resources on the WWW." Click on one of the topics in the left-hand frame to find links to more help sites.
The Nine Planets
"An overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each planet and the major moons in our solar system. Each page has text and images, some have sounds and movies, most provide references to additional related information."
Periodic Table of the Elements
Click on individual squares to learn more about each element, including how it was discovered and how it is used.
Science Made Simple: Unit Conversion
Convert metric measurements to English measurements – or the other way around.
Science Terminology Glossary
"So you're a little confused about what a thingamajig is? Here's the glossary of scientific terms used in Reeko's Mad Scientist Lab."
Science Net
"ScienceNet is a free science information service, staffed by scientists who are expert in explaining complex topics in everyday language. You can search our online database of previously answered questions, and if you can't find an answer then send your question to us."
Toronto Public Library: Science Net
Search through many fields of science, with links devoted to grades K-6, 7-12, or for teachers. This is a Canadian site, so the links are to pages written in French or English.
Tour of Geologic Time - University of California Museum of Paleontology
"Exploring this series of exhibits will take you on a journey through the history of the Earth, with stops at particular points in time to examine the fossil record and stratigraphy." Get started by clicking on a division of the Geologic Time Scale.
Zoom Dinosaurs
"A comprehensive on-line hypertext book about dinosaurs." There are pages for 93 separate dinosaurs, plus dinosaur behavior, fossils, and why they became extinct.