Skip to main content

MS Medieval History: Home

ASM Medeival History Subscription Database

Ancient and Medieval History Online
Provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and the Islamic Empire. Covering prehistory through the 1500s.

Log onto our school MOODLE site, go to the Middle/Upper School Library page to find the user name and password.

Suggested European Digital Collections

Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy from 4000 BCE to Present

British History Online
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Links to visual and aural material with emphasis on access to primary source texts for educational purposes.

Early Modern Resources
Research portal for the early modern period (c.1500-1800 CE). It only lists websites that are free to access and focuses on high-quality resources that are suitable for advanced research, study and teaching.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Links to sites with primary historical documents for European countries and regions. Includes prehistoric and ancient Europe.

Portal to digital libraries all over Europe, but also to archives, museums and audiovisual collection

Labryinth: Resources for Medieval Studies (Georgetown University)
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world.

Library of Congress (LOC)

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)