Skip to Main Content

MS Science-Health: Substance Abuse

Suggested Web Sites

Alcoholics Anonymous

Alcohol Awareness Council
The Alcohol Awareness Council is dedicated to informing the public about the use and abuse of alcohol.

American Council for Drug Education
Provides information on services, programs, and other drug education tools for health professionals, educators, parents, employers, youth, and college students.

ASAM is a professional society representing close to 3,000 physicians dedicated to increasing access and improving quality of addiction treatment, educating physicians and the public, supporting research and prevention, and promoting the appropriate role of physicians in the care of patients with addictions.

Center for Substance Abuse Prevention
Search for publications, statistics, treatment programs and grants available through the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.

Cocaine Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who share their experience, strength and hope with each other that they may solve their common problem and help others to recover from their addiction.

D.A.R.E. is a police officer-led series of classroom lessons that teaches children from kindergarten through 12th grade how to resist peer pressure and live productive drug and violence-free lives.
 
Search for statistics, prevention and treatment programs, government policies and legislation.

ETOH (Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Database)
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism website for researcher and programs relating to alcoholism.

Research on prevention, intervention and treatment along with links to state resources and statistics.
 
“NA is a nonprofit fellowship or society of men and women for whom drugs had become a major problem. We … meet regularly to help
each other stay clean.  We are not interested in what or how much you used ... but only in what you want to do about your problem and how we can help.” [from Narcotics Anonymous pamphlet]
Translating and disseminating research findings to health care providers, researchers, policymakers, and the public
 
The goal of the NIDA is the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of research to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
Search for treatment programs, funding opportunities and statistics relating to substance abuse and mental health issues.
Search for information on drug use prevention, treatment, and care as well as drug trafficking statistics among UN member nations. 

ASM Science Databases

Login information is available on your teacher's Google Classroom site.

Science Reference Center (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy) 

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

Today’s Science Online 
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.

American School of Madrid │ Calle America 3 │ Pozuelo de Alarcon │ 28224 Madrid