US Spanish: Culture

Login information is on our Library Moodle page!

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

Country Reports
Cultural, historical, statistical country information

History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

Ancient and Medieval History Online 
Provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and the Islamic Empire. Covering prehistory through the 1500s.

Modern World History Online 
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Oxford (Grove) Art Online
The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference sources, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles.

Oxford (Grove) Music Online
Leading online resource for music research including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions andEncyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.

• Foods from Spain
  Blog-everything food, cooking, exports, recipes...
• Made in Spain
  "Series exploring the culinary and cultural riches of Spain. Hosted by chef Jose Andres."

• La Barraca
  Based on the novel by Blasco Ibáñez. Includes access to the entire series (9 episodes)
• El Camino
  Adapted from the novel of the same title by Miguel Delibes. Directed by Josefina Molina. Includes access to the entire series (5 episodes)
• Fortunata y Jacinta
  Based on the novel with the same title by Benito Pérez Galdós. Includes access to the entire series (10 episodes)
• Los Gozos y las Sombras
  Spanish TV series produced by TVE. Adaption of Gonzalo Torrente Ballester's trilogy by its same title. Includes access to the entire series (13 episodes)
• Los Pazos de Ulloa
  Adaption of Emilia Pardo Bazán's naturalist novel. Directed by Gonzalo Suárez. Includes access to the entire series (4 episodes)
• La Plaza del Diamante
  Adaptaton of 20th century novel by Merçé Rododera. Directed by Francesc Betriu. Includes access to the entire series (4 episodes)
• El Quijote
  TV series based on the first part of the novel "Don Quixote of La Mancha". Directed by Manuel Gutiérrez Aragón. Includes access to the entire series (5 episodes)
• La Regenta
  Based on the 19th century novel with the same title by Leopoldo Alas Clarín. Adapted by director Méndez-Leite. Includes access to the entire series (3 episodes)

The links provided below will take you to the journal homepage where you can find out more information on article submissions and publishing frequency.

• Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia
  This museum website is very useful for many of you! Use the "buscar en todo el sitio" and input your artist's name. If the museum has works by this artist in its collection, it will show the image and give an explanation of the piece. En español!
• Arte Español
  Use the "Bellas Artes" section to get information from the Museo del Prado on various masterpieces AND/OR read the "Historia del Arte" for information on various art movements.
• Arte España
  Use the "buscar" feature (which brings you to web results) and choose the ArteEspaña result, which is usually at the top of the list.
• La Página del Arte y Cultura en Español
  Pagina "personajes" da informacion sobre Velázquz, Murillo, y El Greco.
• Artcyclopedia
  Search for images by artist name, image title, museum or art movement. Results organized by museum collection. Also note the "Art Movement" descriptions below the search interface.
• Metropolitan Museum of Art Essays on Artists
  Your artists may be among those analyzed here. Search the list.
• Obras Fernando Botero
  Explore the Botero Museum in Bogota, Colombia, including the Google Art Project with 150 High-Definition images of Botero's art.
• Fundació Gala-Salvador Dalí en Figueres (Dali Museum in Figueres, Spain)
  Read the Dali biography and explore the collection online.
• La Casa Azul: Frida Kahlo Museum en Mexico
  Look at the "Biografía" and "Obras del Museo" sections for Frida's life and works.
• Carmen Lomas Garza
  Artist's website.
• Carmen Lomas Garza
  American Immigration Council's biography of the artist.
• Carmen Lomas Garza
  Smithsonian American Art Museum website for exhibit "Del Corazón!"
• José Clement Orozco: The Epic of American Civilization
  Though in English, this site describes the Orozco mural at the Hood Museum of Art at Dartmouth College in New Hampshire.
• Picasso's Guernica (in the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia)
  Articulo en español. :)
• Museu Picasso en Barcelona (Picasso Museum in Barcelona)
  See links for "The Collection" and "Pablo Picasso."
• The Virtual Diego Rivera Web Museum
• David Alfaro Siqueiros: Gran Pintor Mexicano
  Brief description of the artist and his work. In Spanish.
• Rufino Tamayo Pinturas
  From the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia.

• Cinemascampo.tv
  This video platform is specialized in the rural environment. Its primary goal is to promote the values of the rural identity in the 21st century. The advanced search feature allows you to search for videos by type, topic, subtitles availability and more! Anyone can upload a video in this platform and participate in the film festival organized by this channel. Videos can be both streamed and downloaded. Promoted by several municipalities in Andalucia, Spain. It also includes videos provided by the Spanish Minister of Agriculture.
• Márgenes
  This website is specialized in contemporary independent Spanish cinema. It facilitates streaming access to films that have emerged outside conventional Spanish cinematography. It also hosts the Márgenes Online Film Festival and films series devoted to an specific topic or director. Detailed information is presented for each film, including reviews and other texts related to the work. Most of the films are in Spanish or in another of the official languages in Spain. English subtitles are provided for those in other languages. Films searchable by keywords. Created by the production company River Lab.
• PLAT Plataforma de Difusión e Investigación Audiovisual
  An online film archive that provides free and legal access to +150 Spanish films. An initiative by Kinora, a NGO that promotes audiovisual literacy. Feature and short films are browsable by keyword, creator, year, genre, and tags. Platform launched in April 2013.