Skip to main content

US IB Extended Essay: Home

Extended Essay Guides & Sample Marked Essays

If you have questions or concerns about the Extended Essay, consult the official IB Extended Essay guide, see your supervisor, or Dr. Bree.

The first part of the IB guide contains general information that is relevant to all Extended Essays, regardless of subject. The section is quite short, and it is well worth reading for the advice and information given. 

Six required elements of the extended essay:
Title page
Contents page
Introduction
Body of the essay
Conclusion
References and bibliography
https://ibpublishing.ibo.org/extendedessay/apps/dpapp/guide.html?doc=d_0_eeyyy_gui_1602_1_e&part=5&chapter=5

Sample Extended Essays

Student Assessed Work - worth checking out!
Student sample extended essays, corresponding marks and comments from senior examiners are available for the following Diploma Programme disciplines. Please note that in light of not having authentic RPPFs to accompany these essays, they are marked against criteria A – D only, for a total of 28 possible marks. Following the first assessment session in 2018, exemplars will be refreshed with authentic sample material.

Presentation of Your Extended Essay
https://ibpublishing.ibo.org/extendedessay/apps/dpapp/guide.html?doc=d_0_eeyyy_gui_1602_1_e&part=5&chapter=6

ESSENTIAL TO KNOW!

The extended essay should be written in a clear, correct and formal academic style, appropriate to the subject from which the topic is drawn. Given that the extended essay is a formally written research paper, it should strive to maintain a professional, academic look.

To help achieve this, the following formatting is required:
the use of 12-point, readable font
double spacing
page numbering
no candidate or school name on the title page or page headers.
Submitting the extended essay in the required format will help set the tone of the essay and will aid readability for on-screen assessment by examiners.

Assessment Points

Points awarded for the Extended Essay in conjunction with the Theory of Knowledge Essay - out of a maximum total of 45 points. 
(See the IBO webpage on Assessment for more information.)

Class of 2019 Extended Essay Deadlines

 

DATE

TASK

ACTION

September 28 2017

Meeting with Librarian

Extended Essay Meeting1 

-    Introduction to LibGuides
-    Noodle Tools
-    ManageBac

 

EE form Oct17 2017

Fill out 3 subjects areas that you would like to take for EE subject area  Form closed Oct 3rd at 6pm

 DEADLINE: Extended Essay Form submitted (Google Form)

October 31  2017

Supervisors assigned : communicated by email 

Nov 8th Meeting with Supervisors

Extended Essay with Supervisors  Meeting  2

Introduction: (please use EE Libguides page)

- Rubric general assessment criteria
- Subject area rubric on Libguides
Subject specific rubrics  
- You will be given an essay to read for the next subject meeting

Read:

-     Subject Rubric on EE page

-     Example Essay for next meeting

 

November 15 2017

Silver Tray 

Attend  Silver Tray Presentations

November 17th 

Meeting with  Librarian about brainstorming sheet 

Fill out for FirstBrain stormingsheet for next  meeting with superviser

November 29th  2017

Meeting  by Subject area

Extended Essay with Supervisors Meeting 3

- Checking the Area of interest / Brainstorming Form
- Receive a copy of the Draft Research Question form.

- Read additional examples of Extended Essays
- Research about topic
- Upload Draft Research Question Proposal Form to ManageBac by Dec 13th

Dec 14th   2017

Meeting  by Subject area

Extended Essay  with Supervisors Meeting 4  Discuss with supervisor your Draft Research Question form.

- Research  over the break to finalize Research Question. Uploaded to

Managebac by Jan 17th 

January 18 2018

Meeting with Supervisor  

Extended Essay  Meeting 5

Discussion for First Formal Reflection

Research question should be developed and first reflection completed.   Supervisor set tasks for next meeting.

 

 

February 22  2018

Meeting with Supervisor

Extended Essay  Meeting 6 

- Annotated bibliography of 5 viable sources (Sources notated in Noodle account folder (MLA Format))

Task set by Supervisor

Science Experiments week decided by supervisors

- Students doing a science experiment perform them on campus, after school or during lunch.

 

April 12 2018

Meeting with Supervisor

Extended Essay  Meeting 7

- Outline complete with bibliography Rough outline due (including a minimum of 5 main points with supporting details) + 5 additional viable sources

Task set by Supervisor 

May 18th 2019 

 Extended Essay Meeting 8 

Check in with Supervisors

 

Task set by Supervisor

June 13th Meeting with Supervisor

Extended Essay  Meeting 9 

First 2000 words  submitted to supervisor for feedback  including  draft, table of contents and bibliography. Second Reflection completed by June 15th.

Copy submitted to

Supervisor by Managebac

Over Summer

Work on  Essay 

 

First week back

Upload what you have of your essay to Managbac

Email you advisor to set up a meeting to discuss state of the essay

September 21 2017

Complete draft  due for supervisor

     Upload to Managabac

October  19  2017  

Final Essay Completed

     Upload to Managabac

November 15 2017 

Vive Voce / Silver Tray

   Presentation of your work  

IB Academic Honesty

Academic honesty in the IB educational context

Most students understand that it is wrong to copy another student's work and submit as their own. However, it is also dishonest to copy and paste text from WWW into your paper and submit as your own writing or ideas. 

Academic Honesty 
The Plagiarism.org website provides some helpful information on intentional and unintentional plagiarism, and on how students can avoid plagiarism by good citation. Paraphrasing can be difficult, and the Indiana University Writing Tutorial Services provides some helpful information on how to properly paraphrase.

Citing Sources for Academic Research
When doing research for papers and projects, it is necessary to properly acknowledge authors whose work has been used in your end product. This acknowledgement takes place in your writing in the form of parenthetical references, footnotes, endnotes, works cited pages or bibliographies. There are many documentation styles used by a variety of academic disciplines.  At the American School of Madrid, students are strongly encouraged to use MLA. Noodle Tools is an excellent way to assure students that their citations will be correctly formatted.

Plagiarism
Plagiarism is often clear to students only when it involves non-electronic sources. For example, buying a paper from a paper mill to turn in as one's own work is unquestionably plagiarism. Students realize that copying from a book or journal without properly citing the source is plagiarism, but using materials from Web documents seems to be different. Students have the perception that everything on the Web is free, therefore could be no theft involved in taking material that is found there. However, plagiarism is not limited to any specific format, electronic or non-electronic.

Copyright law protects Web documents. Georgia Harper, a lawyer for the University of Texas, says that people assume that everything on the Web is public domain, probably because the law used to require that copyrighted material display a copyright notice. The law changed, however, and "putting the fingers on the keyboard creates a copyrighted work." She says that copyright protection is automatic, so that postings of all kinds are protected (Harper).
(Southeastern Louisiana University)