Check your teacher's Google Classroom page for usernames and passwords.
EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.
Check your teacher's Google Classroom page for usernames and passwords.
Bloom’s Literature
Full-length videos of classic plays: streaming video of famous productions, essays and criticism examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history, overviews, synopses, analyses, and literary criticism of thousands of works, critical essays, and information on more than 48,500 major and minor literary characters
Columbia Granger´s World of Poetry
Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry includes some 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 poetry citations, as well as poet biographies, poetry commentary, literary glossary terms, and texts on history and criticism.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
Questia
Online research library with access to books, journals, articles, and encyclopedias primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full-text back files (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Oxford (Grove) Art Online
The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference sources, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles.
Oxford (Grove) Music Online
Leading online resource for music research including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.
Check your teacher's Google Classroom page for usernames and passwords.
Science Reference Center (Ebsco).
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy)
Today’s Science Online
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.
Points of View Reference Center (Ebsco)
Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, so students can better understand controversial issues.
Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full-text back files (back to 1975) for key magazines.
History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
American History Online
More than 500 Years of Political, Military, Social, and Cultural History-subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, and timelines
American Indian History Online
More than 15,000 years of culture and history through event and topic entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries, representing more than 600 Native American groups.
Ancient and Medieval History Online
Provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and the Islamic Empire. Covering prehistory through the 1500s
Modern World History Online
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries.
National Library of Spain
The National Library of Spain's website and catalog are excellent sources when looking for information in Spanish. There are several special collections organized and run by the National Library, which are described in detail within this page. The website for the National Library of Spain is available in many different languages, including English and the different languages found in Spain; feel free to use it in English, as the information is just as complete as the Spanish.
The Library's catalog is, of course, an excellent place to start.
Biblioteca Nacional de España catalog
The interface is quite simple, with a search bar prominent in the middle of the page. Searches can be conducted by keyword, by subject, which will bring up an alphabetical list that matches the search terms, and also by exact word. The best way to search would probably be in Spanish, but the catalog has a number of English-language materials as well; conducting your search in English would result in a sizeable number of materials.
Searching Spain's National Library catalog would be helpful for a couple of reasons. It is a good way to identify credible and authentic sources, which may then be available in your home institution's library. If they are not available within reach, you will be able to identify the National Library of Spain as a site for InterLibrary Loan.
National Bibliography of Spain
Available through the National Library's website, the Bibliografia Española is the most authoritative source on publications within Spain. The online version linked above has bibliographic information dating from 2007 to the present. It is divided into sections: Monographs, Periodical publications, musical publications and cartographies. There is no real way to search the bibliography--the user is able to browse through links to lead to an entry. For example, you can browse monographs by subject, or within authors and titles. First, you must choose a year of the bibliography, then you can browse deeper into the available categories. The student looking for more recent literature about the topic of the Spanish Civil War will find this source very useful. Browsing by subject and delving into the History category might prove the best strategy. This source is also useful for verifying publication and bibliographic information about a book or periodical.
The UIUC library has paper copies of the Bibliografia Española from 1958-2006, when the National Library of Spain decided to stop printing their bibliography and started offering it online. There was a name change in the middle of the run, therefore there are two call numbers for the Monographic series of the Bibliografia Española:
Biblioteca Española (Madrid, Spain: 1958) Q.015.46 B473 --1958-1992