Skip to main content

US Business: Home

ASM Databases

Ebsco Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research.

History Reference Center This database features full text for more than 9,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.

MAS Ultra - School Edition Provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

questia Academic and professional research-books, journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles

Oxford Reference Online Brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’sDictionaries, Companions andEncyclopedias

Oxford Art Online The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art

Oxford Music Online The leading online resource for music research

JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books and primary resources.

* Check our ASM Moodle site for login information.

Government Resources

Business USA
n 2011 the president  directed the creation of BusinessUSA, a centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier than ever for businesses to access services to help them grow and hire. GreT SOURCES OF INFO.

U.S. Census Bureau
The principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
2012 Economic Census
Taken every 5 years the Economic Census provides statistical data on U.S. industries as a whole and industries within a geographic area; industries are classified primarily by NAICS
Database of federal web sites on statistical materials
Industry Economic Accounts
from the Bureau of Economic Analysis
Monthly Retail Trade Data
Retail sales and inventories by business industry.
Science and Engineering Statistics
National Science Foundation statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
2012 online edition. Provides data on population, vital statistics, health, law enforcement, education, politics, and other areas of general interest. Hint: look at the source of the data to get more detailed information.
SBA: Statistics for Specific Industries
Small Business Administration page pointing to government statistics for specific industries including Banking, Energy and Environment.
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns is Census Data in an annual series that provides sub national economic data by industry. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
Current Industrial Reports
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Economic Census
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Statistics of U.S. Business
Census Data by detailed employment size, by year, by state and by industry.
U.S. Census Bureau - American Factfinder
Census & business demographic data

Industry Overviews

Your first step in researching an industry should be finding the Industry Classification code. See below for the three standard classifcations for industries in the United States.

Industry Websites

International Business & Country Information