Skip to main content

MS Spanish Renaissance: Spanish Renaissance

Music

Indiana University maintains a categorized website, probably the best overall source:
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources

Here are some other examples:

Index to Renaissance vocal music in collections:
http://www.info.library.yorku.ca/depts/smil/rvm/rvm.asp
(This is an index to collections at York University, Ontario, Canada)

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music:
http://www.diamm.ac.uk
A project of several British institutions to digitize some old and fragile manuscripts; some are from the Renaissance.

Music Audio Files

SPANISH ~
Nashville Early Music Ensemble - NEME
Oy comamos y bebamos - 
Juan del Encina - lively and fun (see more versions below)
Gaudete  --  Fum Fum Fum  --   Con el vito

Oy comamos y bebamos - Juan del Encina - lively and fun - Renaissance band and singers
Oy comamos y bebamos -
 Juan del Encina - same piece as above  Los Angeles Guitar Quartet

Rodrigo Martinez - Anonymous 15th Century - Spanish Renaissance Kings Singers  Lyrics
Folia - an early Folia (improvisational method with a simple melody in minor key)
Yo soy la locura - Henri de Bailly - French passacaglia style but sung in Spanish
La Tarantela - Atrium Musicae de Madrid

VILLANCICOS
E la don don - The Renaissance Quartet/Project 3 PR 7000SD
Vésame y abràcame - New York ProMusica/Decca DL9409
----------------------------
Riu chiu is a 16th century Spanish villancico (carol) arranged in a South American folkloric style. Here are 7 versions of it. Like to sing along?? Here are the lyrics.
Ríu chíu - Nashville Early Music Ensemble - NEME
Ríu chíu - Cuarteto Zupay
Ríu chíu - Chanticleer
Ríu chíu - The Monkees with Chip Davis (performed in their Christmas 1967 episode)
Ríu chíu - The Monkees with Davy
Ríu chíu - Eric Tingstad
Ríu chíu - Unknown Instumental


HARP
Hachas - Popular Variations - Villancete - Seguidilla - Huete
Nicanor Zabaleta, soloist/Counterpoint 509 and 5542
Marionas - Tarantela - Luz y Norte/Lucas Ribavaz (CD)
OLD FOLK SONGS
A la nanita - La magarideta - El pobre alegre
Madrigal Chorus of Madrid/Odyssey 32160148

History

Euro Docs-Primary Documents

  • Anuario de Estudios Medievales (Yearbook of Medieval Studies)
    An open-access publication that includes history of politics, society, economy, culture, religion, science, art, literature, thought, and philosophy, etc.
  • Spanish National Historical Archive  Icon
    An open archive with government and administrative information from the Middle Ages to the Modern Age. Includes 5 databases (click on the dog icon to go directly to database page).
  • Virtual Library of Written Heritage
    La Biblioteca Virtual de Patrimonio Bibliográfico, or Virtual Library of Written Heritage, is a cooperative project between the Ministry of Culture and the Autonomous Communities with the objective of sharing digital objects like manuscripts and printed books that form part of the Spanish Cultural heritage.

Music Video Files

Architecture

Websites

http://www.spanish-art.org/spanish-architecture-renaissance.html

http://www.infoplease.com/encyclopedia/entertainment/spanish-art-architecture-the-renaissance-mannerism.html

Notable Structures

Wikipedia

ASM Databases & Resources

Please check our ASM Middle/Upper School Library Moodle page for login information

History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

Country Reports
Cultural, historical, statistical country information

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions andEncyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Questia
Online research library with access to books, journals, articles, and encyclopedias primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full-text back files (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Literature

Art

Getty Research Portal - Provides global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Lives of the Most Eminent Painters Sculptors and Architects by Giorgio Vasari. Through Project Gutenberg you can download the eBook.

Art links in Sp[anish