ASM United States History Databases
Please check our ASM Middle/Upper School Library Moodle page for login information
History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
American History Online
More than 500 Years of Political, Military, Social, and Cultural History-subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, and timelines
American Indian History Online
More than 15,000 years of culture and history through event and topic entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries, representing more than 600 Native American groups.
Modern World History Online
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries.
Cultural, historical, statistical country information
Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Online research library with access to books, journals, articles, and encyclopedias primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full-text back files (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Historical Figures During the American Revolution http://www.zunal.com/webquest.php?w=32388
Revolutionary War http://www.zunal.com/webquest.php?w=2291
Revolutionary War: Gaining Independence http://www.zunal.com/webquest.php?w=6937
The American Revolution: A Colonial Newspaper http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/fil/pages/webamericanms4.html
The Role of Philadelphia in the Revolutionary War http://www.zunal.com/webquest.php?w=7163/webquest.php?w=14722
Finding Reliable Sources
You have found a web site that looks good, professionally designed, nice pictures etc. BUT, it is reliable? Ask yourself these six important questions BEFORE you use any information from the web site!
1. Who is responsible for this site?
2. What are his or her credentials?
3. Have the authors documented their own sources?
4. What is the domain name? Does it end in .com, .gov, .edu, .org, or .net?
5. Who else links to the site? You can perform a link check in Google by entering "link:webaddress" in the search box. Is it linked to other reliable sites?
6. Would you include this site in a bibliography?
ASM Destiny Catalog Search
Primary Sources in American History
American Memory Collection - The Library of Congress's American Memory project
The Avalon Project - Yale University's collection of law, history, and diplomacy primary source material
Chronicling America - From the Library of Congress, digital copies of American newspapers from 1836-1922.
Making of America - From the University of Michigan, primary source materials covering the American history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
New York Public Library Collections - check out the Digital Gallery, Manuscripts & Archives, and Special Collections
National History Day - a comprehensive list of primary source sites, both for general American History and for more specific topics
Documenting the American South - from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, primary sources related to southern history, culture, and literature
National Archives - from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, government documents pertaining to many aspects of American history
Smithsonian Institution - primary sources from the Smithsonian museums, including information about military and political history
History Matters - from the American Social History Project, a searchable database of primary source collections in American History
The Valley of the Shadow - details life in two American towns, one Northern and one Southern, from the pre-Civil War era through Reconstruction
A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents - The University of Oklahoma College of Law's repository of historical documents from pre-colonial to present time
From Revolution to Reconstruction - American History primary source documents from the colonial period through modern day
AMDOCS - Documents for the study of American history
Primary Documents in American History - Web guide created by the Library of Congress
Experience Music Project - The Experience Music Project at the Seattle Center houses collections of music, film, and popular culture
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - visit the exhibits of the museum for primary source material related to music
Our Documents - 100 milestone documents from American history
Repositories of Primary Sources - indexing site for online primary source collections
Smithsonian's History Explorer - explore the collections of the Smithsonian Institute Museums
General United States History Web Sites
America Rock Songs http://www.schoolhouserock.tv/America.html
American Revolution: Timeline http://dcn.davis.ca.us/vme/vo/
Early American History Crossword Puzzles http://www.earlyamerica.com/crossword/
Flags of the American Revolution http://members.tripod.com/~txscv/revolt.htm
Footnote Original War Documents http://www.footnote.com/
Growth of a Nation Video http://www.animatedatlas.com/movie.html
History Place: American Revolution Timeline http://www.historyplace.com/unitedstates/revolution/rev-prel.htm
Jump Back in Time http://www.americaslibrary.gov/jb/index.php
Liberty: The American Revolution Newspaper Chronicles http://www.pbs.org/ktca/liberty/
National Parks Service: The American Revolution http://www.nps.gov/history/museum/exhibits/revwar/
Revolutionary America Maps http://www.libs.uga.edu/darchive/hargrett/maps/revamer.html
Revolutionary War Biographies http://www.42explore2.com/revolt3.htm
Revolutionary War Internet Scavenger Hunt http://lasd.k12.pa.us/teachers/purnellj/RWHunt.html
Spy Letters of the American Revolution http://www2.si.umich.edu/spies/
The Revolutionary War: Kid Info http://www.kidinfo.com/American_History/American_Revolution.html
Time Line: Library of Congress http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/continental/timeline.html
Citing Sources with NoodleTools
Note: If you are trying to login to NoodleTools from home, you must first enter ASM's subscription information: username: asmadrid, password: noodle, before you will be able to login to your own individual account.
Click HERE to access Noodle Tools from campus.