Finding Reliable Sources
You have found a web site that looks good, professionally designed, nice pictures etc. BUT, it is reliable?
Ask yourself these six important questions BEFORE you use any information from the web site!
1. Who is responsible for this site?
2. What are his or her credentials?
3. Have the authors documented their own sources?
4. What is the domain name? Does it end in .com, .gov, .edu, .org, or .net?
5. Who else links to the site? You can perform a link check in Google by entering "link:webaddress" in the search box. Is it linked to other reliable sites?
6. Would you include this site in a bibliography?
ASM Destiny Catalog Search
United States History Web Sites That Link to Many Sources
100 Milestone Documents
19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies
19th Century Documents Project
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
America's Archive (Rice University)
American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications
American Memory (Library of Congress)
American Presidency Project
American President: An Online Reference Resource
American Women's History: A Research Guide
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Best of History Web Sites: American History
Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
Cornell University Witchcraft Collection
Cornell University Library Making of America Collection
Digital Librarian: History
Digital Library on American Slavery (University of North Carolina, Greensboro)
Discovering American Women's History Online
DocsTeach: Primary Source Documents
Early American History and Culture Links
Getting the Message Out! National Campaign Materials 1840-1860
Historical Text Archive: United States
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Medical Heritage Library
National Archives: Access to Archival Databases
Navy Department Library: Online Publications, Documents, and Subject Presentations
Opening History: U.S. History Resources from Libraries, Museums, and Archives
Presidential Elections: Resource Guides (Library of Congress)
Public and Private Papers (of the Presidents)
Smithsonian: National Museum of American History: Collections
Songs of America (Library of Congress)
The National Archives on YouTube
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Voice of the Shuttle: U.S. History
Voices, Votes, Victory: Presidential Campaign Songs
World Digital Library: United States of America
World Wide Web Virtual Library: History: United States
WSS Links: Women and Gender Studies Web Site
Ebsco Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research.
History Reference Center This database features full text for more than 9,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.
Newspaper Source Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
MAS Ultra - School EditionProvides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
questia Academic and professional research-books, journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles
Oxford Reference Online Brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’sDictionaries,Companions andEncyclopedias
Oxford Art Online The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art
Oxford Music Online The leading online resource for music research
JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books and primary resources.
* Check our ASM Moodle site for login information.
Citing Sources with Noodle Tools
Note: If you are trying to login to NoodleTools from home, you must first enter ASM's subscription information: username: asmadrid, password: noodle, before you will be able to login to your own individual account.
Click HERE to access Noodle Tools from campus.