Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014
- All Music Guide
This publication has been around for quite a while, and has a print edition as well. The online version is free, and you can search geographically by country, or explore the broad World Music section.
- Global Music Archive
The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas.
- Global Music on Link TV
This educational channel offers a lot of music and videos from all around the globe.
- World Instrument Gallery
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. Log into Moodle to find ASM's username and password.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
Freely available scores and sheet music in the public domain.
- Sheet Music Consortium
Access sheet music collections at UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins, and Duke.
- American Memory
From the Library of Congress. Access to a wide range of collections in the performing arts, including sheet music, sound recordings, and selected composers' manuscripts.
- Texts on Music in English from the Medieval and Early Modern Eras
From the Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln. Full-text, English language treatises on music theory and aesthetics, from the middle ages through the 17th century.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions
- Archive of American Popular Music
Sheet music from the UCLA Music Library’s Archive of Popular American Music.
- Choral Public Domain Library
Database of choral scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.
- Early Music Online
Digital library containing more than 300 volumes of the earliest printed music, including part-books of vocal polyphony and tablatures for keyboard and plucked string instruments.
- International Music Scores Library Project
Collection of public-domain scores, searchable by composer, instrumentation or genre.
- Mutopia Project
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download.
- Sibley Music Library: Digital Scores
Database of scores and books in the public domain, many of which are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
- The Sheet Music Archive
Printable sheet music scores for piano, orchestra, choir and many classical instruments.
- American Music Center Online Database
Digital database containing over 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers, including over 14,000 media samples (recordings and scores).
- Sheet Music Consortium
Access sheet music collections at UCLA, Indiana University, Johns