- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
"Brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the U. of Wis."
- Afrocentric Voices in "Classical" Music
- Center for Black Music Research
This Web site of the Center for Black Music Research at Columbia College, Chicago, offers some resources useful to students beginning research on the music of Africa or the black diaspora.
- Cultural Equity
The Association for Cultural Equity (ACE), housed at the Fine Arts Campus of New York City's Hunter College, was chartered as a charitable organization in the State of New York in 1983. It was founded by Alan Lomax to explore and preserve the world's expressive traditions with humanistic commitment and scientific engagement.
- Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music
Links to sites related to ethnomusicology provided and maintained by the University of Washington.
- Folk Music Index
"An online bibliographic database that compiles citations of print and recorded sources for folks music ... the focus is North American and Anglo folk traditions ...Searching is limited to simple keywords for either performers or music titles; results appear in a search frame. Browsing ... is available by title or performer. (from V.J. Novara, CHOICE)
- Global Jukebox
"Presents a variety of audio, visual, and written materials created by and around renowned ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Most of the items derive from the Alan Lomax Archive and its custodian, the Assoc. for Cultural Equity (ACE), an organization devoted to disseminating Lomax's recordings and other materials collected over several decades ... this site offers remarkable treasures for anyone interested in American folk music or world music." J.C. Wanser, Hiram College
- IITMA: Irish Traditional Music Archive
"A national public reference archive and resource centre for
the traditional song, instrumental music and dance of Ireland."
- Instrument Encyclopedia
This site contains a wealth of resources about musical instruments and instrument groups as well as a geographical browser and a guide to instrument collections in the United States and Canada.
- Music and Dance of Africa
African Studies page maintained by Columbia University Libraries; provides links to numerous academic and popular websites relating to African studies/culture.
- National Geographic World Music
National Geographic has assembled a comprehensive databse of world music materials on National Geographic World Music. It offers a world music glossary, directory, podcasts, song samples and a country-by-country guide to music.
- Now What a Time: Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943
- Smithsonian Folkways
Includes liner notes and audio samples from all musical and spoken word recordings issued by Folkways and its affiliates. Site also includes complete audio for selected songs of more recent releases and short video presentations.
- Society for Ethnomusicology
Good link to sources relating to various aspects of ethnomusicology; includes access to issues of the Journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology.
- Southern Mosaic
