This is the "Home" page of the "US English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US English   Tags: literary criticism, poetry  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://asmadrid.libguides.com/content.php?pid=599771 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Literary Databases

EBSCO
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Search Tips

JSTOR
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary full-text content from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Search Tips

Oxford Reference Online Library Collection
Provides access to dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works along with topical companions and a dictionary of quotations, offering full-spectrum subject coverage. The Oxford Reference Library combines over 2 million entries and some 300,000 pages (many of which are illustrated) into a single cross-searchable resource consisting of 180 core academic titles. Search Tips.

New York Times (Historical)
1851 - three years previous. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Via ProQuest. Search Tips

ArchiveGrid (OCLC)
Provides detailed descriptions of numerous archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. With its online archival collection descriptions, ArchiveGrid helps you to locate collections of primary source material more quickly than ever before. Records include collection title, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description. Search Tips

      

    Recommended Web Sites

    In addition to our electronic databases, there are a variety of research guides and materials available on the internet to assist students with curriculum assignments and basic reference work. These sites are considered by librarians to be from reputable and sometimes scholarly sources.

    • Bartelby.com: Great Books Online The classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference, all full text and free of charge.

    • Internet Public Library Criticism Collection Contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, title, or nationality and literary period.

    • Words Without Borders A free online magazine with the goal of increasing understanding of other cultures through the English translations of foreign literature and commentary. Search by continents or environments.
        

      Contributor

      Profile Image
      American School of Madrid Library
       
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip