US Art: Web Sites

Alphabetical listing of Photographers with links to oral interviews, papers, correspondence, images, recordings and more.

the Art Institute's photography collection contains works of many of the medium's celebrated practitioners, including collection the Alfred Stieglitz Collection, the Julien Levy Collection, with more than 200 photographs by Edward Weston, and the work of Paul Strand, Eugéne Atget, and André Kertész.

is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.

Books, manuscripts, periodicals, images, scores, etc. spanning a wide array of disciplines from Bibliotechque Nationale de France with materials reaching back into the 17th Century. Materials can be downloaded as PDF, JPEG (individual pages) and TXT.

George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film, the world’s oldest photography museum opened to the public in 1949 and is housed in George Eastman's Colonial Revival mansion where he and his family lived from 1905 to 1932.

The 46 thematic essays on Photography focus on artistic movements and periods, including daguerreotypes, early documentaries, surrealism, and the works of individual photographers.

With over 25,000 works, this is one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world and includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs.

The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, was one of the earliest museums in the country to collect photography, and the collection include daguerreotype portraits, landscapes of the American West; Pictorialist photographs; European and Central European photography from between the wars, and archival collections of celebrity portraits by Yousuf Karsh and Herb Ritts and mountain photographs by Bradford Washburn