This is the "Home" page of the "US French" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US French   Tags: france, french, french culture, french history  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2014 URL: http://asmadrid.libguides.com/content.php?pid=632749 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

ASM Databases

Login information is on our Library Moodle page!

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

Country Reports
Cultural, historical, statistical country information

History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

Ancient and Medieval History Online
Provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and the Islamic Empire. Covering prehistory through the 1500s.

Modern World History Online
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Oxford (Grove) Art Online
The full-text of Grove Dictionary of Art, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference sources, with thousands of images and continuously updated articles.

Oxford (Grove) Music Online
Leading online resource for music research including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.

      

    Web Resources in French

    French News

     

    ASM Destiny Catalog Search

    Find:
    Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
    Advanced Search

    Recommended Websites

        

      Royalty-Free Images

       

      • Flickr
        Be sure to select the Creative Commons option before searching! Use for photos or videos.
      • Wikimedia Commons
        Large collection of public domain and Creative Commons images, sounds, maps, and other media.
      • Pixabay
        Huge variety of public domain images. Warning: the first row of images in any search are sponsored results from Shutterstock and are not in the public domain.
      • The Morgue File
        "Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!"
      • Creative Commons Search
        Portal for searching various sites for Creative Commons images, audio, video, and other media. Select a site to begin your search; your currently selected site will be highlighted in light blue.
      • Academic Search Premier
        Be sure to click on the "image quick view types" (bottom left of screen) before searching.
      • The Internet Archive
        A collection of images and sound
      • Library of Congress Collection
        Produced by the Library of Congress and mostly free. Be sure to check the copyright statement before using.
      • Archival Research Catalog
        National Archives Database of various governmental and historical images, videos, sound bites. Be sure to check each resource's copyright statement.
      • EveryStockPhoto
        Royalty-free image aggregator; pulls from a number of sources, including stock xchng and Flickr.
      • FreeFoto.com
        "FreeFoto.com is the largest collection of free photographs on the Internet (link back and attribution required)."
      • Free Images
        The only drawback is you have to join this site first.
      • Google LIFE Photo Archive
        Images with copyright restrictions will have a note on the actual image.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip