This is the "Home" page of the "US IB Extended Essay" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US IB Extended Essay  

Last Updated: Oct 11, 2017 URL: http://asmadrid.libguides.com/content.php?pid=683666 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Extended Essay Guides & Sample Marked Essays

If you have questions or concerns about the Extended Essay, consult the official IB Extended Essay guide, see your supervisor, or Dr. Bree.

The first part of the IB guide contains general information that is relevant to all Extended Essays, regardless of subject. The section is quite short, and it is well worth reading for the advice and information given. 

Six required elements of the extended essay:
Title page
Contents page
Introduction
Body of the essay
Conclusion
References and bibliography
https://ibpublishing.ibo.org/extendedessay/apps/dpapp/guide.html?doc=d_0_eeyyy_gui_1602_1_e&part=5&chapter=5

Sample Extended Essays

Student Assessed Work - worth checking out!
Student sample extended essays, corresponding marks and comments from senior examiners are available for the following Diploma Programme disciplines. Please note that in light of not having authentic RPPFs to accompany these essays, they are marked against criteria A – D only, for a total of 28 possible marks. Following the first assessment session in 2018, exemplars will be refreshed with authentic sample material.

Presentation of Your Extended Essay
https://ibpublishing.ibo.org/extendedessay/apps/dpapp/guide.html?doc=d_0_eeyyy_gui_1602_1_e&part=5&chapter=6

ESSENTIAL TO KNOW!

The extended essay should be written in a clear, correct and formal academic style, appropriate to the subject from which the topic is drawn. Given that the extended essay is a formally written research paper, it should strive to maintain a professional, academic look.

To help achieve this, the following formatting is required:
the use of 12-point, readable font
double spacing
page numbering
no candidate or school name on the title page or page headers.
Submitting the extended essay in the required format will help set the tone of the essay and will aid readability for on-screen assessment by examiners.

    Extended Essay Formatting

    Format of the Extended Essay, from the IBO EE Handbook, p. 16:

    The upper limit is 4,000 words for all extended essays. This upper limit includes the introduction, the body, the conclusion and any quotations, but does not include:

    • the abstract
    • acknowledgments
    • the contents page
    • maps, charts, diagrams, annotated illustrations and tables
    • equations, formulas and calculations
    • citations/references (whether parenthetical or numbered)
    • footnotes or endnotes 
    • the bibliography
    • appendices

    Essays containing more than 4,000 words are subject to penalties and examiners are not required to read material in excess of the word limit.

    The correct format of the essay presentation (Handbook, p. 15):

    • Title page
    • Abstract
    • Contents page
    • Introduction
    • Body (development/methods/results)
    • Conclusion
    • References and bibliography
    • Appendices
        
       

      Assessment Points

      Points awarded for the Extended Essay in conjunction with the Theory of Knowledge Essay - out of a maximum total of 45 points. 
      (See the IBO webpage on Assessment for more information.)

       

      Class of 2019 Extended Essay Deadlines

       

      DATE

      TASK

      ACTION

      September

      Meeting with Librarian

      Extended Essay FIRST MEETING

      -    You will be given an Areas of interest/ Brainstorming Form

      -    Introduction to LibGuides

      -    Noodle Tools

      -    ManageBac

      Fill out and upload to ManageBac the Area of Interest / Brainstorming Form

      Sept -Oct 

      Fill out your 1st, 2nd and 3rd choice for EE subject area  (check email and IB Res and Info)

      Form closed Oct 3rd at 10.40)

       DEADLINE: Extended Essay Form submitted(Google Form)

      October 

      It will be communicated by email the supervisor that you have been assigned

      October 

      Meeting  by Subject area

      Extended Essay SECOND MEETING

      Introduction:

      -  You will be given the subject area rubric  essay in subject of interest

      -  You will be given an essay to read for the next subject meeting

      Read:

      -     Subject Rubric

      -     Example Essay

      November

      Watch a senior’s final work and presentation

      Attend  Silver Tray Presentations

      Chosen by Google Doc Signup sheet

      November 

      Meeting  by Subject area

      Extended Essay THIRD MEETING

      -    Checking the Area of interest / Brainstorming Form

      -     Research or do background reading about Research Questions

      -     Read additional examples of Extended Essays

      -     Upload Draft Research Question Proposal Form to ManageBac

      December

       

       

      January 

      Meeting with Supervisor / Subject area group

      Extended Essay FOURTH MEETING

      -    Discussion of Research Question Proposal Form

      Supervisor set tasks for next meeting

      February 

      Meeting with Supervisor

      Extended Essay FIFTH MEETING

      -    Annotated bibliography of 5 viable sources (Sources notated in Noodle account folder (MLA Format))

      Submit copy of Research Question Proposal Form and bibliography  to Managebac

      March 

      Meeting with Supervisor

      Extended Essay SIXTH MEETING

      -    Research Question will be refined as advised by supervisor

      -    Introductory paragraph

      Submit Introductory paragraph to Managebac by 

      Science Experiments week decided by supervisors

      Students doing a science experiment perform them on campus, after school or during lunch.

      April 

      Meeting with Supervisor

      Extended Essay SEVENTH MEETING

      -    Outline complete with bibliography

      -    Rough outline due (including a minimum of 5 main points with supporting details) + 5 additional viable sources

       

      May 

      Meeting with Supervisor

      Extended Essay EIGHTH MEETING

      First 2000 words  submitted to supervisor for feedback  including  draft, table of contents and bibliography

      Copy submitted to Supervisor by Managebac

      Over Summer

      Work on  Essay

       

      First week back

      Upload what you have of your essay to Managbac

      Email you advisor to set up a meeting to discuss state of the essay

      September 

      Complete draft  due for supervisor

             Upload to Managabac

      October  

      Final Essay Completed

              Upload to Managabac

      November  

      Vive Voce / Silver Tray

              Presentation of your work 

        IB Academic Honesty

        Academic honesty in the IB educational context

        Most students understand that it is wrong to copy another student's work and submit as their own. However, it is also dishonest to copy and paste text from WWW into your paper and submit as your own writing or ideas. 

        Academic Honesty 
        The Plagiarism.org website provides some helpful information on intentional and unintentional plagiarism, and on how students can avoid plagiarism by good citation. Paraphrasing can be difficult, and the Indiana University Writing Tutorial Services provides some helpful information on how to properly paraphrase.

        Citing Sources for Academic Research
        When doing research for papers and projects, it is necessary to properly acknowledge authors whose work has been used in your end product. This acknowledgement takes place in your writing in the form of parenthetical references, footnotes, endnotes, works cited pages or bibliographies. There are many documentation styles used by a variety of academic disciplines.  At the American School of Madrid, students are strongly encouraged to use MLA. Noodle Tools is an excellent way to assure students that their citations will be correctly formatted.

        Plagiarism
        Plagiarism is often clear to students only when it involves non-electronic sources. For example, buying a paper from a paper mill to turn in as one's own work is unquestionably plagiarism. Students realize that copying from a book or journal without properly citing the source is plagiarism, but using materials from Web documents seems to be different. Students have the perception that everything on the Web is free, therefore could be no theft involved in taking material that is found there. However, plagiarism is not limited to any specific format, electronic or non-electronic.

        Copyright law protects Web documents. Georgia Harper, a lawyer for the University of Texas, says that people assume that everything on the Web is public domain, probably because the law used to require that copyrighted material display a copyright notice. The law changed, however, and "putting the fingers on the keyboard creates a copyrighted work." She says that copyright protection is automatic, so that postings of all kinds are protected (Harper).
        (Southeastern Louisiana University)

            

          Sample EEs from the IBO

          The IBO publishes two volumes of 50 Extended Essays, covering all Diploma Programme groups--and all scored a top A grade.

          Click on the link below to access PDFs of the essays.  

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip