LibGuides: US IB Business: Home

ASM Databases

Ebsco Offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research.

History Reference Center This database features full text for more than 9,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.

MAS Ultra - School Edition Provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Oxford Reference Online Brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online The leading online resource for music research

JSTOR JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books and primary resources.

* Check your teacher's Google Classroom site for login information.

Government Resources

Business USA
In 2011 the president directed the creation of BusinessUSA, a centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier than ever for businesses to access services to help them grow and hire. GreT SOURCES OF INFO.

U.S. Census Bureau
The principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
2012 Economic Census
Taken every 5 years the Economic Census provides statistical data on U.S. industries as a whole and industries within a geographic area; industries are classified primarily by NAICS
FedStats
Database of federal web sites on statistical materials
Industry Economic Accounts
from the Bureau of Economic Analysis
Monthly Retail Trade Data
Retail sales and inventories by business industry.
Science and Engineering Statistics
National Science Foundation statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
2012 online edition. Provides data on population, vital statistics, health, law enforcement, education, politics, and other areas of general interest. Hint: look at the source of the data to get more detailed information.
SBA: Statistics for Specific Industries
Small Business Administration page pointing to government statistics for specific industries including Banking, Energy and Environment.
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns is Census Data in an annual series that provides sub national economic data by industry. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
Current Industrial Reports
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Economic Census
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Statistics of U.S. Business
Census Data by detailed employment size, by year, by state and by industry.
U.S. Census Bureau - American Factfinder
Census & business demographic data

Industry Overviews

Your first step in researching an industry should be finding the Industry Classification code. See below for the three standard classifcations for industries in the United States.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC)
Many reference works organize industries by their Standard Industrial Classification (SIC). A specific SIC is a four-digit code used to group similar types of businesses together. Not only are all the Census industry statistics arranged by this scheme, but it is widely used by many non government publications such as market guides and directories.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America.
Industry and Occupation Classification System
The purpose of the classification systems used in these indexes is to organize and to make understandable the many thousands of industries and occupations. These systems group titles describing like industries or like occupations into homogeneous categories and assign a code to each category.

Industry Websites

MSN Money Investing
Contains company and industry ratios. Search by company name or ticker symbol.
Yahoo!Finance
Includes about 100 industries with basic, up-to-date ratios, with data provided by Reuters.

International Business & Country Information

Bank for International Settlements
Central Bank websites and Central Bank Research Hub

BBC Country Profiles
General country information & media links

more...

CIA World Factbook
Doing Business In...
Published by World Bank
Economist - Topics Index
Search the alphabet to find articles indexed on countries worldwide.
Executive Planet Wiki
Business culture and etiquette
Export.gov
Data collected by U.S. Commercial Service for promoting U.S. good abroad. Search for countries under Opportunities Tab; other resources include industry market reports, guides and statistics and events.
Federation of International Trade Associations
Focus on promoting import with country specific data on export trade and business environments
Global Competitiveness Report
Published by the World Economic Forum
Global Enabling Trade Report
Published by the World Economic Forum
GlobalEdge
University of Michigan's site for Global information and links
Grant Thornton International Business Report
International Business Reports (IBR) Economy focus series vary by year.
Heritage Foundation: Index of Economic Freedom
Search 'Find Your Company' for country specific reports
HLB International - Doing Business in ...
Select Publications, then 'Doing Business In' then use 'Choose a brochure to download' to select country
International Finance Corp. and The World Bank: Doing Business - Measuring Business Regulation
International Monetary Fund - Country Reports
Economic and banking news and profiles
International Trade Centre
A partner for small business export success in developing countries.
Legatum Institute - Legatum Prosperity Index
The Legatum Institute is an independent, non-partisan pubic policy group based in London. Rankings by country and region and brief country profiles.
Lex Mundi - Association of Independent Law Firms
Index to 'Doing Business in' reports prepared by independent law firms.
OECD
Country ocioeconomic and statistical data as well as special reports that vary by country.
Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
Country specific data and factsheets on trade, exports, trade agreements and information to develop and coordinate international trade.
PKF Doing Business in
Links to country reports: Russia, Austria, Taiwan, Chile, China , Ecuador, Guernsey, Hong Kong, Japan, Poland, Switzerland, UK, U.S., Jordan, Malaysia, Oman, Belgium, Hungary, Australia, Isle of Man, Malta, Uruguay, Germany, New Zealand, Mexico, Peru, Romania, Morocco, Singapore, South Korea
Polity IV Project
The Polity IV Project continues the Polity research tradition of coding the authority characteristics of states in the world system for purposes of comparative, quantitative analysis.
TradeStats Express - U.S. Department of Commerce, ITA
National trade statistics, including: merchandise exports, imports, trade balances and State export dta
U.S. Census Bureau: International Statistical Agencies
National Statistical Offices/Agencies listed by country
U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Includes link to AmCham Directory
U.S. State Department - Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Replaces 'Background Notes'
UNDP - Human Development Reports
Reports, Indices & Data by Country on Human Development (e.g. Health, Education, Income, Gender, Poverty, Sustainability and Inequality
World Bank
Social and Economic statistics and special reports.
World Economic Forum - Country and Regional Reports
Search for country reports under Regions (left side of page). The World Competitiveness, Risk Report and Information Technologies reports are among the popular publications that are also available on this site.