Skip to Main Content

MS Science-Human Biology: Home

ASM Science Databases

Login information is available on your teacher's Google Classroom site.

Science Reference Center (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy) 

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

Today’s Science Online 
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.

General Resources

Anatomy Flash Cards- This is a HUGE list!
Anatomy of the Human Body- "The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn."
Blink.biz- flash animations on immunobiology
BioDigital Human-make sure your browser is up-to-date for this site
BodyQuest
Build a Body- drag and drop parts of the human body
Encyclopedia.com- results from several online sources
Get Body Smart- interactive site with tutorials
Gray's Anatomy- over 12,000 entries cover everything about the human anatomy
Healthline Body Maps-3D male and female models
Heart Anatomy- interior view; many self-tests on this page.
Human Blood-introduction to its components and types; also find flash cards and crossword puzzles on the topic.
Human Body Resources for Teachers- nice listing from TeacherVision
Image Search from Google- over 9 million results!
Inner Body- choose from the 8 systems to navigate (many ads on this site)
Learn Physiology Using Flow-Diagram Models
Master Muscle List- listed in alphabetical order or by region.
Medical Animation Library- from Penn Medicine; (UPenn) over 200 video tutorials
MEDtropolis- "home of the virtual body"
Membrane Transport- animated explanation
Skull Anatomy Tutorial- includes all views and a slide show.
Think Anatomy- huge collection of all-things anatomy, including dissection videos, terminology, mnemonics, podcasts, study guides and lots more; smartphone app is available!
Partially from:  Anatomy Teachers: 36 Teaching Resources by noreply@blogger.com (Julie Greller)

Healthline Body Maps

Healthline Body Maps

Medical Animation Library

Medical animation library

  • Medical Animation Library
    Video animations and explanations of injuries, diseases, and body systems.
    From The University of Pennsylvania Health System.

Diagrams-Human Anatomy

  • Skeleton
    From The Human Body Book
    The skeleton makes up almost one-fifth of a healthy body’s weight. This flexible inner framework supports all other parts and tissues, which would collapse without skeletal reinforcement. The skeleton also protects certain organs, such as the delicate brain inside the skull....
  • Muscles of the Body
    From The Human Body Book
    Muscles are the body’s “flesh”. They bulge and ripple just under the skin, and are arranged in criss-crossing layers down to the bones. Their job is to contract and pull the bones to which they are anchored. Rarely working alone, they usually contract in groups, moving bones at accurate angles and by precise
  • Heart Structure
    From The Human Body Book
    The heart is a powerful organ about the size of a clenched fist. Located just to the left of centre in between the lungs, it operates as two coordinated pumps that send blood around the body...
  • brain
    From The Human Body Book
    The brain, in conjunction with the spinal cord, regulates both non-conscious processes and coordinates most voluntary movement. Furthermore, the brain is the site of consciousness, allowing humans to think and learn...
  • Respiratory Anatomy
    From The Human Body Book
    The respiratory system, in close conjunction with the circulatory system, is responsible for supplying all body cells with essential oxygen and removing potentially harmful carbon dioxide from the body...
  • Digestive Anatomy
    From The Human Body Book
    The digestive system consists of a long passageway, known as the alimentary canal or digestive tract, and associated organs, including the liver, gallbladder, and pancreas. The digestive tract starts at the mouth and continues through the oesophagus...
From UC Merced Library
American School of Madrid │ Calle America 3 │ Pozuelo de Alarcon │ 28224 Madrid