US Robotics: Home

Login information is available on your teacher's Google Classroom site.

Science Reference Center (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy) 

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

Today’s Science Online 
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.

 

Note: If you are trying to login to NoodleTools from home, you must first enter ASM's subscription information: (available on our library moodle page), before you will be able to login to your own individual account.
Click HERE to access Noodle Tools from campus.

How to use Note Cards in Noodle Tools Video

• Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
  About: "Founded in 1979, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) (formerly the American Association for Artificial Intelligence) is a nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines."
• Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI)
  With more than 6,000 individual members representing more than 2,200 companies from 55 countries, the Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International is the world's largest non-profit organization devoted exclusively to advancing the unmanned systems community.
• IEEE Robotics and Automation Society
  About: "The Society strives to advance innovation, education, and fundamental and applied research in Robotics and Automation. Robotics focuses on systems incorporating sensors and actuators that operate autonomously or semi-autonomously in cooperation with humans. Robotics research emphasizes intelligence and adaptability to cope with unstructured environments."
• NASA Robotics Alliance Project
  Mission: "To create a human, technical, and programmatic resource of robotics capabilities to enable the implementation of future robotic space exploration missions."
• SAE International
  SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development.

Discovery tools (search engines and databases)

• Google Scholar – for scholarly resources
• Scirus – for scientific information only
• cedb.asce.org - searches American Society of Civil Engineers publications
• contrails.iit.edu - searches old US Air Force aerospace technical reports
• DOE Energy Citations Database - www.osti.gov/energycitations/
• fris2.nist.gov/starweb/FireDoc/servlet.starweb?path=FireDoc/firedoc.web  - Fire research database from US NIST
• Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center - nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/index.html
• pubmed.gov  - for biomedical articles from US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, and life science journals
• www.gpoaccess.gov/topics/science.html  Science and technology publications of the US Government
• www.science.gov – searches databases and websites from US federal agencies.  See especially Image Search under Special Collections

 Books

• Project Gutenberg - http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page
•  Internet Archive Project – openlibrary.org
• Google Books – books.google.com
• Merck Manuals Online Medical Library
• www.merck.com/mmhe/index.html (Home Health Handbook)
• www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html (for Healthcare Professionals)
• Free e-book links
• http://www.pagebypagebooks.com/
• http://www.nap.edu/
• http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/
• http://www.bookspot.com/onlinebooks/
• http://www.bibliomania.com/2/-/frameset.html
• http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/modeng/modeng0.browse.html
• http://www.bibliomania.com
• http://manybooks.net/

• www.doaj.org/  Directory of open access journals
• www.ejtp.com Electronic journal of theoretical physics
• www.iiu.edu.my/ejournal/home/index.php/islamasia/issue/current Journal of Islam in Asia (open access journal, no issues published as yet)
• www.lancs.ac.uk/jais/volume/index.htm Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies

• www.jstage.jst.go.jp/browse/  fulltext of journals, proceedings and reports from Japanese societies
• http://www.emergencymgmt.com/back-issues Government Technology’s Emergency Management magazine
• http://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/browse/jnst JNST: Journal of nuclear science and technology from Atomic Energy Society of Japan
• http://knowledgecenter.unr.edu/materials/articles/journals/free.aspx Links to free e-journals

 Media

• Inside Mecca (National Geographic) http://freedocumentaries.org/
• Inside Mecca (National Geographic) http://www.snagfilms.com/films/
• Inside Mecca (National Geographic) search also www.youtube.com
• Islam: Empire of Faith. Part 1: Prophet Muhammad and rise of Islam (full; PBS Documentary) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yX3UHNhQ1Zk
• Islam: Empire of Faith. Part 2: The Awakening (full; PBS Documentary) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1PxJomypQE
• Islam: Empire of Faith. Part 3: The Ottomans (full; PBS Documentary) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iI7Qkcyz3tM&feature=related

Websites and resources

• www.archive.org/  -  Internet Archive
• DOE e-print network  www.osti.gov/eprints/  (US Dept of Energy)
• DOE research reports - www.osti.gov/bridge/  (US Dept of Energy)
• dspace.mit.edu  - repository of MIT intellectual output
• Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics. It is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education, and has explanations for technical subjects that are both clear and accessible.http://scienceworld.wolfram.com/
• ethos.bl.uk/Home.do   - theses from United Kingdom
• inisdb2.iaea.org/   proxy problem – International Nuclear Information System on peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology.
• Jane’s www.janes.com
• kmoddl.library.cornell.edu/   (mechanical models demonstrating kinematics from Cornell University)
• www.martindalecenter.com/Calculators4.html  - 22,000 science and engineering calculators
• MathWorld^TM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.  http://mathworld.wolfram.com/
• Online Writing Lab from Purdue University http://owl.english.purdue.edu/
• www.hpl.hp.com/techreports/   Technical Reports from Hewlett-Packard laboratories
• www.nap.edu/  - US National Academy Press
• www.usa.gov/  US federal government resources
• xxx.lanl.gov/  e-prints in physics, math, computer science, biology, finance and statistics

 Patents

• ep.espacenet.com/  - from European Patent Office
• www.freepatentsonline.com/   - US and European patents
• www.google.com/ptshp?tab=st  - Google patent search

 Data

• lsda.jsc.nasa.gov/  NASA Life Sciences Data Archive
• www.matweb.com/   - MatWeb, material property data

 Software

• www.techbriefs.com/content/view/1863/38/  NASA software programs