Before we video chat, ZOOM or Google Meet, check out our guest speakers' websites!
Pet Lamp
PET Lamp is a project that mixes the reuse of PET plastic bottles with selected traditional weaving techniques from different corners of the world in order to create unique handmade lampshades. This initiative was founded by the designer Alvaro Catalán de Ocón after the first experience in the Colombian Amazon in 2011. Currently it is produced and distributed by the edition brand of his studio, ACdO.
https://petlamp.org/
UnPacked
UnPacked was born with the aim of bringing us closer to a new way of consuming that is more conscious and respectful of the environment. Facilitating the sustainable purchasing process for their customers.
Their entire shopping experience is plastics-free, allowing you to fill the pantry without creating unnecessary waste. They also offer reusable products that help in the process towards a #zerowaste life.
https://www.unpackedshop.es/
****ASM students, click this link to watch the video interview with UnPacked owner, Maria.
Mr. Mendez on loom
Watch ASM's Mr. Mendez on climate, recycling and all that's good for the environment.
https://www.loom.com/
He has created a list of interesting article on trello:
https://trello.com/b/eIE6osPx/enviro
One of his favorite books is read by Justin Theroux below:
How Kids Are Saving the Planet
Teen Walks Across America for Climate Action
When Climate Change Became Personal
Teen Sues Government for Climate Change Action
Teenage Indigenous Hip Hop Artist Talking on Climate Change
Teenagers Suing Over Climate Change
8 Teen Activists Sue Over Climate Change
Bill Maher: Interview with Xiuhtexcatl Martinez
U.S. Gov’t Has Violated ‘Our Constitutional Right to a Healthy Atmosphere’
Carbon dioxide: C02 is a colourless and odourless greenhouse gas
Climate: the average (or usual) weather conditions in an area over a long period of time
Climate change: changes in the normal weather patterns in a region
Deforestation: the permanent destruction of forests to make land available for other uses
Economic: the system of making money for individuals, businesses or governments
Environment: natural parts of the planet such as vegetation, climate and wildlife
Fossil fuels: a fuel formed from the ancient remains of living organisms (ex. coal, oil, natural gas)
Global warming: an increase in the average temperature of the Earth’s surface, causing changes in the climate
Greenhouse effect: an increase in greenhouse gases in the atmosphere that causes an unusual amount of heat to be trapped on the Earth
Greenhouse gases: a gas that contributes to the greenhouse effect (ex. CO2, methane, nitrous oxide)
Methane: a colourless, odourless gas greenhouse gas
Refugee: a person who is forced to leave their country to escape war, persecution or disaster
Social: how people live in a community together
Solar radiation: energy emitted by the sun
Water vapour: water in gas form (ex. steam)
Weather: the day-to-day temperatures, precipitation (ex. rain, snow, drought conditions), cloud cover, storms, hurricanes, etc.
Click HERE to visit this website, created by Daniel S, an ASM Middle School student
A new site for data from the federal government.
Data & Products
NOAA Earth System Research Lab - Climate Forcing, Ozone Depletion, Baseline Air Quality
(Assessments of Impacts and Adaptations to Climate Change in Multiple Regions and Sectors)
Article from Online (2008) summarizing both sides of the debate, with lots of links
Access leading climate change information and visualize the impacts anywhere on Earth over time
Login information is available on your teacher's Google Classroom site.
Science Reference Center (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy)
EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.
Today’s Science Online
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.
Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.
(Alaska's Muir glacier in August 1941 and August 2004. Significant changes occurred in the 63 years between these two photos. Credit: USGS)
Climate change describes a change in the average conditions — such as temperature and rainfall — in a region over a long period of time. For example, 20,000 years ago, much of the United States was covered in glaciers. In the United States today, we have a warmer climate and fewer glaciers.
Global climate change refers to the average long-term changes over the entire Earth. These include warming temperatures and changes in precipitation, as well as the effects of Earth’s warming, such as:
Earth’s climate has constantly been changing — even long before humans came into the picture. However, scientists have observed unusual changes recently. For example, Earth’s average temperature has been increasing much more quickly than they would expect over the past 150 years.
https://www.instagram.com/noaaclimate/
https://www.facebook.com/NOAAClimateGov
Merriam-Webster Dictionary