Skip to Main Content

MS United States History: Slavery

13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Abolition of Slavery

Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass Papers

Douglass Papers, from the Library of Congress's Manuscript Division, contains approximately 7,400 items (38,000 images) relating to Douglass' life as an escaped slave, abolitionist, editor, orator, and public servant. The papers span the years 1841 to 1964, with the bulk of the material from 1862 to 1895. The collection consists of correspondence, speeches and articles.

Citing Sources with NoodleTools

 

Note: If you are trying to login to NoodleTools from home, you must first enter ASM's subscription information: username: asmadrid, password: noodle, before you will be able to login to your own individual account.
Click HERE to access Noodle Tools from campus.

How to use Note Cards in Noodle Tools Video

Primary Sources Online

American Abolitionism Project
This site contains information about the abolition movement in the United States. The resources included are a history of abolition and slavery, maps, biographies of abolitionists, slave narratives, newspaper articles, pamphlets, speeches and more.

Anti-slavery Manuscripts Collection at the Internet Archive
The papers of William Lloyd Garrison and other historical figures central to the Boston anti-slavery movement can be viewed and downloaded for free. You can browse by subject or keyword.

Black Abolitionist Archive
The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. The collection is searchable by keyword or you can browse by keyword, author, publication or organization.

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
Numbering over 10,000 titles, May's pamphlets and leaflets document the anti-slavery struggle at the local, regional, and national levels. Sermons, position papers, offprints, local Anti-Slavery Society newsletters, poetry anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes all document the social and political implications of the abolitionist movement.

Quakers & Slavery
The types of materials available at this website are photographs and lithographs, organization records, personal correspondence, and other publications. It is an online searchable database from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges.

MHS Online Resources
Links to online collections available from the Massachusetts Historical Society. Some of the collections include Boston Abolitionists, Antislavery Images, African Americans and the End of Slavery in Massachusetts, and The Case for Ending Slavery.

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Contains information on more than 35,000 slave voyages involving the forcible transport of more than 12 million Africans to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. Offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.

Historical Document Repository (Brown University)
Contains over one hundred and fifty historical documents, some six hundred manuscript pages in all, as well as introductory headnotes, bibliographic information, and technical data. The collection can be browsed by date, name, or type of document. Many of the documents have been transcribed, as part of an ongoing project. .

Voyage of the Slave Ship Sally, 1764-1765 (Brown University)
The voyage of the Sally was an example of "the triangle trade." Rum-laden Rhode Island ships sailed to Africa and acquired cargoes of Africans, who were carried to the plantation colonies of the Caribbean and sold. The ships returned home with holds filled with sugar and molasses, which was distilled into rum and shipped to Africa to produce more slaves, more sugar, and more rum. In the century before 1807, roughly 100,000 Africans were carried into New World slavery on Rhode Island ships, most to the Caribbean.

Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery (New York Historical Society)
Comprises fourteen significant collections from the NYHS's extensive manuscript holdings on slavery. They consist of diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions. 

Legacies of British Slave Ownership (University College - London)
Traces the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain and the significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833.

Digital Library on American Slavery
Mounted by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in collaboration with the Race and Slavery Petitions Project, this database provides a searchable index to the "Race, Slavery and Free Blacks" microform set, which is available at the Brown University Library. PLEASE SEE the "Microforms" tab of this guide for further details.
American School of Madrid │ Calle America 3 │ Pozuelo de Alarcon │ 28224 Madrid