Skip to Main Content
TV and News
- Giga presse – a portal of international, national and regional francophone newspapers and magazines
- France Info - Website of the major public news radio station with free audio archives
- Le Canard enchaîné – France’s No.1. weekly satirical paper
- Charlie Hebdo- "des dessins satiriques et de véritables articles de réflexions..."
- Bakchich Info – ‘Informations, enquêtes et mauvais esprit’ : dark-humoured, satirical coverage of current affairs
- Le Figaro – daily national newspaper with weekly thematic supplements
- Le Monde- daily news and 'dossiers' covering a number of topics
- Libération- a selection of news and 'petites annonces'
- Le Monde diplomatique- political news and archives dating back to February 1995
- Paris Match- news and photos plus online discussion forum
- Marianne – a national weekly current affairs magazine
- L’Express – an accessible weekly current affairs and comment magazine, updated daily and including excellent thematic dossiers
- Le Nouvel Observateur – a weekly current affairs and comment magazine, updated daily
- Rue 89 - online journal
- Mediapart- "journal d'information numérique, indépendant et participatif"
- ELLE- the online version of the monthly magazine
- Marie Claire – the website of the monthly fashion magazine
- Cosmopolitan – ‘le magazine féminin mode et sexy’
- Canal +- programme listings and cybernews
- TF1
- France 2– programme times, magazine and six week news archive
- France 3– programmes and video links
- France 5 – programmes and documentaries
- M6
- Arte – France’s terrestrial arts and documentaries channel
- TV5 Monde – News and views about the francophone world including games, sports and arts coverage
- Radio France internationale – News and views about the francophone world including news bulletins in ‘français facile’
- France Inter – News, podcasts
The Arts
- Télérama – France’s top quality weekly TV listings magazine accompanied by cutting edge critical reviews of the latest in new media, radio, TV, film, theatre, music, books, exhibitions etc
- Guide to Current French Culture – keep up-to-date with the vast array of cultural events in France, including dance, theatre, architecture, fine art, literature and languages…
- Ministère de la culture et de la communication
- Videomuseum- "un consortium de 42 musées et collections publiques françaises d'art moderne et contemporain"
- La base Architecture-Mérimée- the national database of France’s monuments of historical interest comprising over 180 000 entries
- Fabula – news and output from a research group of some of France’s leading academics in the fields of literature and literary theory
- WebLettres – teaching and learning resources for French literature and advanced French language usage
- Lire – News, reviews, interviews, profiles and excerpts from the French-language literary world
- Bibliotheque Nationale de France (BNF) - books and online exhibitions
- Gallica - Digital library
- Ebooks libres et gratuits – eBooks in French language available for free download
- Livres pour tous – Over 5000 eBooks for free and legal download
- Francophone Music – Videos, charts, shows, concerts etc
- EuroDocs: History of France- archives of primary documents from the Capetians and the crusades to the present day
Reference and Study
- Lexilogos – A wealth of different dictionaries (monolingual, bilingual, etymological, biographical, place names, synonyms, quotations etc)
- Mediadico – User-friendly two-way bilingual dictionary, word games, an anagram-generator, quotations and idiomatic expressions
- Trésor de la langue française informatisé (TLFI) – A sophisticated lexical resource enabling you, amongst other things, to check spelling by typing in the approximate pronunciation
- IATE – Interactive Terminology for Europe - a database of official and technical terms in the languages of the EU
- OrthoNet- "Orthonet dépanne, informe, corrige, explique, raconte…” An excellent range of strategic grammar and vocabulary reference tools
- L’Internaute encyclopédie – a large range of useful lexical, factual and linguistic tools and up-to-date reference materials
- Bescherelle Verb Conjugator
- French Grammar Central – An abundance of links to grammar explanations and exercises
- La Grammaire de l’absurde – Very comprehensive set of grammar resources designed by the University of Texas (d’où ‘Tex’s French Grammar’…)
- Expressio – ‘Les expressions françaises décortiquées’ : a wealth of idiomatic French expressions and their meanings and origins
- La Lettre - Letter-writing resources including models, advice and inspiration from a user-friendly searchable database
- Linguistes – An introduction to French linguistics
- Langue régionales et minoritaires – The official charter relating to France’s regional and minority languages’ policy
- Wikipédia – French version of the collaborative encyclopedia
- Le Grand répertoire des centres de français en France (FLE) – The ever-growing list of validated French as a Foreign Language teaching centres in France
- Académie française – The official website of one of France’s oldest institutions
- BBC Languages: French
Sports and Leisure
- Ministère de la Santé et des Sports – France’s state body for sport
- RTL-Sport – The text and audio sports columns of France’s RTL radio station on-line
- Eurosport – the French version of the TV channel including video, live TV and radio coverage of major sporting events
- L’Equipe – National sports newspaper online containing video clips, TV and text
- FFF – French Football Federation’s official site
- Le Tour de France – videos, interviews, maps and weather forecasts for France’s biggest annual sporting event
- The Dakar – Archives and updates relating to the famous rally raid, formerly known as the Paris-Dakar, which currently takes place in South America
- Loisirs en France – a comprehensive alphabetical list of links to almost every leisure activity conceivable in France from abbeys to zoos
- Guides Petit Futé – the website to accompany the eponymous series of domestic and foreign travel guides including searchable databases, reviews and downloadable iPhone apps…
American School of Madrid │ Calle America 3 │ Pozuelo de Alarcon │ 28224 Madrid
