- Flickr
Be sure to select the Creative Commons option before searching! Use for photos or videos.
- Wikimedia Commons
Large collection of public domain and Creative Commons images, sounds, maps, and other media.
- Pixabay
Huge variety of public domain images. Warning: the first row of images in any search are sponsored results from Shutterstock and are not in the public domain.
- The Morgue File
"Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!"
- Creative Commons Search
Portal for searching various sites for Creative Commons images, audio, video, and other media. Select a site to begin your search; your currently selected site will be highlighted in light blue.
- Academic Search Premier
Be sure to click on the "image quick view types" (bottom left of screen) before searching.
- The Internet Archive
A collection of images and sound
- Library of Congress Collection
Produced by the Library of Congress and mostly free. Be sure to check the copyright statement before using.
- Archival Research Catalog
National Archives Database of various governmental and historical images, videos, sound bites. Be sure to check each resource's copyright statement.
- EveryStockPhoto
Royalty-free image aggregator; pulls from a number of sources, including stock xchng and Flickr.
- FreeFoto.com
"FreeFoto.com is the largest collection of free photographs on the Internet (link back and attribution required)."
- Free Images
The only drawback is you have to join this site first.
- Google LIFE Photo Archive
Images with copyright restrictions will have a note on the actual image.
