MS Science-Genetics: Home

Login information is available on your teacher's Google Classroom site.

Science Reference Center (Ebsco)
Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. (Applied Sciences, Earth Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Scientists, and Space Sciences & Astronomy) 

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

Today’s Science Online 
Searchable Science encyclopedia as well as in-depth coverage in recent advances in biology, chemistry, environmental science, space, physics and technology.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs.

Your Genes Your Health  http://www.yourgenesyourhealth.org

Genetic Disorders http://kidshealth.org/teen/your_body/health_basics/genes_genetic_disorders.html

Photos of the genetic diseases  http://medgen.genetics.utah.edu/             

Genome.gov  http://www.genome.gov/1901693 and http://www.genome.gov/10001204

www.wikipedia.com

http://www.ornl.gov/sci/techresources/Human_Genome/medicine/assist.shtml

NIH http://geneed.nlm.nih.gov/index.php

Utah http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/

UCSC  http://genome.ucsc.edu/ 
     Tutorial: How to use the UCSC Genome Browser

Ensembl http://www.ensembl.org/index.html
   Tutorial: How to use Ensembl

NCBI  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/guide/genes-expression/#tab-all_
   Tutorial:  NCBI Gene & SNP Tutorial

Basics

• GeneTests  
• Gene Gateway  
• Public Health Genomics  
• Multiple Congenital Anomaly/Mental Retardation Syndromes  
• Genes and Disease  

Gene Therapy

• American Society of Gene Therapy    
• Gene Therapy - Human Genome Project  
• Gene Therapy for Cancer: Questions and Answers  
• Gene Therapy and Children  

Stem cell Research

• Guidelines for Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research  
• Stem Cell Basics  

Genetics and Society

• Center for Genetics and Society
• Ethical, Legal and Social Issues  
• Gene Issues: Gene Technology Access Centre
• Nuffield Council on Bioethics

Physical Maps

• Stanford TNG RH Map
• Stanford G3 RH Map
• Whitehead YAC/RH Map

Maps and Markers

• Map Viewer    
• UniSTS  
• Electronic PCR  

Linkage Maps

• deCODE Map
• Marshfield Map
• Genethon Map

• Learn.Genetics

  This is an excellent resources for basic genetics concepts, from simple to more advanced concepts.
• DNA Learning Center

  3-D animation library and biology animation library
• GeneEd

  Contains links, videos, articles and more related to genetics.
• JoVE Peer Reviewed Scientific Videos

  Scientifically accurate videos to help in your understanding of genetics content.

The Gene Scene
Mutant Fruit Flies
How to Extract DNA from Anything Living
I Can Do That – Introduction to DNA

Animals

• American Jersey Cattle Association   Jersey Genetic Summary
•  Holstein Association USA   Genetic Evaluations
• The Livestock Conservancy   Breed Clubs and Associations listed by The Livestock Conservancy
• USDA ARS Animal Improvement Programs Laboratory

Humans

• American Society for Human Genetics   
• Association of Professors of Medical and Human Genetics
• Genetics Society of America  
• International Federation of Human Genetics Societies  

Free Springer Protocol http://www.springerprotocols.com/cdp/view/freeProtocolList

Accelerated Genetics  http://www.accelgen.com/english

• Bioethics.net-The bioethics.net website is currently maintained by the editorial staff of The American Journal of Bioethics.  In service to anyone interested in bioethics, the website publishes information on the latest journal publications, events, job opportunities and current news, as well as being a one-stop-shop of popular bioethics blogs.
• Center for Bioethics - University of PennsylvaniaThe Department of Medical Ethics & Health Policy is based in the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.
• Project MUSE - Kennedy Institute of Ethics-The Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal (KIEJ) offers a scholarly forum for diverse views on major issues in bioethics, including analysis and critique of bioethics theories such as principlism and feminist perspectives in bioethics; the work of federal bodies such as the President's Council on Bioethics; and a wide range of topics such as enhancement technologies, health care reform, stem cell research, and organ transplantation.