US History-Spanish Civil War: Home

You have found a web site that looks good, professionally designed, nice pictures etc. BUT, it is reliable?
Ask yourself these six important questions BEFORE you use any information from the web site!

1. Who is responsible for this site?

2. What are his or her credentials?

3. Have the authors documented their own sources?

4. What is the domain name? Does it end in .com, .gov, .edu, .org, or .net?

5. Who else links to the site? You can perform a link check in Google by entering "link:webaddress" in the search box. Is it linked to other reliable sites?

6. Would you include this site in a bibliography?

• Southworth Spanish Civil War CollectionThe Southworth collection at the University of California, San Diego, contains over 13,000 books, pamphlets, periodicals, newspapers, posters, and manuscripts.

• Trabajadores: The Spanish Civil War Through the Eyes of Organised Labour - largest English language digital collection of primary sources related to the conflict; contains archives held at the Modern Record Centre at the University of Warwick, including archives of the British Trades Union Congress as well as materials from the collections of Henry Sara and Frank Maitland, Hugo Dewar, Paul Tofahrn, and the Socialist Party. More about this collection >>

• The Visual Front: Posters of the Spanish Civil War from UCSD's Southworth Collection A project of the University of California, San Diego, this site includes detailed descriptions of nearly a hundred propaganda posters from the war as well as a chronology, bibliography, and other useful information.

• New York University: NYU's Tamiment Library has holdings related to the Abraham Lincoln Brigade, a group of American volunteers who participated in the conflict. Click here to view these holdings. Another source for study of the Spanish Civil War is the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives, a nonprofit national organization founded by the Veterans of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade in 1979.

• They Still Draw Pictures "They Still Draw Pictures" includes a digital reproduction of the book with the same title, together with images of all of the children's drawings held in the Southworth Spanish Civil War Collection, Mandeville Special Collections Library, UCSD.

• Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives The Abraham Lincoln Brigade is an organization dedicated to highlighting the role of North American volunteers in the war. Includes links to a biographical database, lesson plans, and much more.

• Hoover Institute: Stanford has several items related to the Spanish Civil War, including the Leo Elloesser papers, which discuss interational medical aid to Spain during the Spanish Civil War: Click here to view these holdings. The Institute also has several collections which feature art related to the Spanish Civil War. These materials are frequently added to, so the best way to find them is to search the Hoover Institute site.

• Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives at Tamiment Library, NYU New York University's Tamiment Library holds the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives.

• PBS's Guernica (Treasure of the World Series) Also includes general background on the war.
  
  
• About the Spanish Civil War - MAP Brought to you by the English Dept. at the University of Illinois, Urbana. Part of their website on Modern American Poetry, includes historical background of the war in addition to related poetry and poets.
  
  
• Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives "ALBA is a non profit national organization devoted to the preservation and dissemination of the history of the North American role in the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) and its aftermath."
  
  
• Franco biography From biography.com
  
  
• Children's Art of the Spanish Civil War
  
  
• USCD Mandelville Collection - Spanish Civil War art

Scan the QR code below to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.

Check your teacher's Google classroom site for login information.

Ebsco

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Music Online

JSTOR