Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

US IB World History: Home

ASM Subscription Databases

Please check our ASM Middle/Upper School Library Moodle page for login information

History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

Modern World History Online
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries.

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s DictionariesCompanions and EncyclopediasOxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Questia
Online research library with access to books, journals, articles, and encyclopedias primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full-text back files (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Websites

The Avalon Project – Yale University
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/

Digital Vaults – National Archives and Records Administration
http://www.digitalvaults.org/

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History – Brigham Young University
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page

Internet History Sourcebook Project – Fordham University
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/

100 Milestone Documents in American History – National Archives and Records Administration
http://www.ourdocuments.gov/content.php?page=milestone

Voyages : the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade

Internet Text Archive

Google Books

World History

Image result for world history

What are Primary Sources?

A general definition of a primary source is first-hand evidence of an event or experience. This evidence can be in the form of the written word, images, artifacts, film or sound recordings, and will have been created at some point during the lifetime of the person involved. Examples of primary sources are:

  • Books and manuscripts
  • Ephemera (posters, invites, greetings cards, receipts, handbills etc.)
  • Film and video, images, photographs and original artwork
  • Interviews and speeches
  • Maps
  • Pamphlets, magazines and newsletters
  • Newspapers, news sheets and news books
  • Parliamentary, legal and official documents (Government publications, census data, court cases, business records etc.)
  • Personal writings (memoirs, letters etc.)

What are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources are usually created after an event by someone who was not a firsthand witness to something. The authors or creators of secondary material may use a number of primary sources to analyse, criticise, interpret or provide a summary of an event or topic. Textbooks are usually secondary sources.

Secondary sources may also be primary sources. For example, if a scholar from the 19th century studies the nature of contemporary literary criticism, then their critique from the 19th century becomes a primary resource.

Examples of secondary sources include:

  • books
  • journal articles
  • reviews of literature
  • biographies
American School of Madrid │ Calle America 3 │ Pozuelo de Alarcon │ 28224 Madrid