US IB World History: Bismarck's Domestic & Foreign Policies

• Documents of German Unification

Includes Speech to the Frankfurt Assembly, Proclamation of 1849, Letter to Minister von Manteuffel, The Imperial Proclamation, and documents from Field Marshal Helmuth von Moltke and Otto von Bismarck.

From the Internet History Sourcebooks

(1848-1871; English translation)

• Memoirs of Otto von Bismarck

Bismarck accounts working with the king and the king's advisers.

From Hanover Historical Texts Collection.

(1860-1890; English translation)

• Bismarck's Blood and Iron Speech

Famous speech in which the powerful German politician demands less debate and more action. Available in original German.

(30 September 1862; English translation)

• Deutsche Geschichte in Dokumenten und Bildern: Reichsgründung: Bismarcks Deutschland (1866-1890)

German History in Documents and Images: Forging an Empire: Bismarckian Germany

Compiled by the German Historical Institute in Washington, D.C.

(1866-1890; images, maps, German transcriptions and English translations)

• Bismarck’s Diplomatic and Military Gamble through British Eyes

Like many others, the British initially regarded Bismarck’s policy as reckless and likely to lead to Prussia’s defeat; later, Loftus conceded that no other state seemed capable of charting a path toward German unification.

(1866; English transcription)

• EMS Telegram telegram from the Prussian Kaiser Wilhelm I, to Prime Minister Otto von Bismarck

Account of Bismarck's attempt to provoke France into war.

(1870; English translation)

• LibGuides Primary Sources on the Franco-Prussian War

With links to 17 digitized books on the war, including memoirs by a diplomat, an army nurse, a French minister, a field marshal, and letters from figures such as Bismarck.

(1870-1871; English)

• Primary Sources on Otto von Bismarck

With direct links to his speeches, letters, and other digitized books from his life.

(1871-1890; English)

• Kaiserreich 1871 - 1918 texts

Includes primary documents in translation from Otto von Bismarck, Heinrich Class,

Gen. Friedrich von Bernhardi, Adolf Hitler, Helmuth von Moltke, Rosa Luxemburg,

Kaiser Wilhelm II; of the Internationale and of a Berliner Illustrierte readers' poll.

(1880-1925; translations)

Excerpts from Memoirs by Otto von Bismarck
From Hanover Historical Texts Project

German Studies Web
The German Studies Web was founded July 6, 1995. It is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. If needed, annotations have been provided augmenting the research value of these resources to scholars

German History in Documents and Images
Date range: 1500-present
Geographical focus: Germany
"a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery"

 Pilartz, Jacques - This image was provided to Wikimedia Commons by the German Federal Archive (Deutsches Bundesarchiv) as part of a cooperation project. The German Federal Archive guarantees an authentic representation only using the originals (negative and/or positive), resp. the digitalization of the originals as provided by the Digital Image Archive.

Please check our ASM Middle/Upper School Library Moodle page for login information

History Reference Center (Ebsco)
Designed for academic research, this database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

American History Online
More than 500 Years of Political, Military, Social, and Cultural History-subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, and timelines

Modern World History Online
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries.

Country Reports
Cultural, historical, statistical country information

Oxford Research Premium
Over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias; Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.

EBSCO Ultra Online
A comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources including ERIC, Newspaper Source, and TOPICsearch.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Questia
Online research library with access to books, journals, articles, and encyclopedias primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

MAS Ultra Electronic Periodicals (Ebsco)
MAS Ultra provides full text for tens of thousands of magazines, biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full-text back files (back to 1975) for key magazines.